If you currently hold or are applying for a medical marijuana license in Colorado, you should review the following news items from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE):
- Application fee to be reduced to $35 (from $90) for any and all applications received after January 1, 2012. The department will not issue refunds to anyone who sends their application with the wrong fee, so remember this important change.
- A slew of renewal applications are expected in the next few months, which will create a slowdown in the license issuance process. If you want to be renewed without a lapse in your license status, send your application to the department exactly 60 days before its current expiration date. Do not send your application any earlier than 60 days as the CDPHE will not accept applications that are over 60 days old.
- Renewal applications cannot be used as proof of registration for medical marijuana purchases.
- Slowdowns resulting from random verifications of physician recommendations are now common as the doctor’s recommendation is verified in approximately 15 percent of all applications. This is creating substantial delay in the application approval process.
- Copies of new applications are now accepted at medical marijuana centers as temporary proof of registration. This is the result of a change in the .
Medical marijuana laws are complex and ever-changing. The penalties for violating them are severe. If you have questions about medical marijuana licenses, medical marijuana center operations, optional premise grow licenses, or cultivation of marijuana by a licensed patient, contact Shaun Kaufman at Shaun Kaufman Law today.